top of page

About Our History

The story of preservation at Dromod

The Cavan & Leitrim Railway Today

The heritage operation at Dromod began with a visit from a group of enthusiasts in 1992. They inspected the site and discovered the original Cavan and Leitrim railway building standing, the water tower and amazingly the original engine shed buried under ivy. The preservationists were able to enter the shed which had lain in the same condition as last used, with the smell of steam and soot in the air. They also were able to walk along 1/2 of a mile in the Ballinamore direction as far as cloncoolry crossing. The trackbed being in reasonable condition.

Inquiries were made and Dromod station building was purchased along with the station site and the trackbed as far as Cloncoolry. The railway was relaid with sidings, a new workshop and a carriage shed. The group brought its collection of wagons, carriages, artifacts, diesels and a steam loco to Dromod. The first public service operated in late May 1995 with Fowler built diesel "Dinmore", and our first steam service in early June 1995 with 1916 built Kerr Stuart "Dromad" and 47c,

We have gained more acquisitions over the years including a collection of aircraft and buses. Our most prominent project to date has been the restoration of our 1908 Avonside built steam loco "Nancy" with £160,000 being spent over 20 years on her restoration.  

Dromod is a unique family attraction being the only location in Ireland where visitors can board an airplane cockpit and view heritage steam and diesel locomotives. We have featured in several TV programmes and Documentaries including the BBC series presented by Michael Portillo on "Great Railway Journeys" and we featured in a TG4 documentary "Beidh Me ar Ais" last year which was of great benefit for the railway.

Dromod before restoration work
nancy (1 of 1).jpg

Please note that Dromod is staffed completely by volunteers and we depend on your support to keep running, to help us become a member or donate

An early clip of Dromod can be seen above in 1996 taken by Nicholas Tozer. Scenes include; Simplex LM350 in fictitious CIE livery, "Dromad" being prepared for steam, Isle of Man carriage F21, Tralee and Dingle Light Railway carriage 10T, several vans and wagons from the West Clare section and NCC can also be admired.

The clip continues with railcar C47 (ex Bord na Mona) taking the guests for a trip along the line, the track hadn't reached Cloncoolry at that stage. Many thanks to Nick for sharing it. While public services do not operate at the moment, we aim to operate services again in the near future. The museum is open from Easter to September.

C&L on YouTube:

Image Slideshow

On the left hand side is a series of images showcasing our history at Dromod simply click on the image and scroll through, there are captions provided.

We aim to add to this as more progress is made! 

If you have any images please get in touch and email 

bottom of page